Diesel tech in an eco world

This is a discussion on Diesel tech in an eco world within the Introductions forums, part of the Ford F150 Ecoboost category; How's it going guys! Thanks for viewing this. Here it goes I'm a certified detroit diesel tech basically building frightliners. I did a lot of ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Diesel tech in an eco world

Member #

How's it going guys! Thanks for viewing this. Here it goes I'm a certified detroit diesel tech basically building frightliners. I did a lot of diesel work on side and got real big on fourms with powerstroke well on sat I took my wife's 1.8l ecoboost escape in for service and seen a 2013 f150 3.5l xlt 4x4 with 22k on the ticker. Needless to say I traded in my harley davidson powerstroke and bought another ecoboost. I joined this site to try and find out what to look for on this engine I haven't touched a gas engine in years but I am a diesel tech so I know my way around a truck lol. So what's the good bad and ugly on these 3.5ls what oil is good? I see the filter is on the oil cooler is delta range a concern? Fuel filters?

Member #
    Liked
    1511 times
    AFAIK We have not seen any issues with oil cooling, nor with fuel filters. The biggest issue seems to be valve coking from oil blowby, condensation causing hydro lock, and detonation. Detonation is not common, but is failry catastrophic for these engines. Timing chains seem to be stretching, the trend seems to be longer (oem suggested) OCI's using semi synthetic oils can exacerbate it. All and all the better you maintain the vehicle the better it will treat you. I may be forgetting somethings, or may be a bit off, but there are several here who are quite a bit more knowledgeable than I.
    peon

Member #
    Valve coming from blow by???? How lol is the crank becoming over pressurized?? Or get past the rings? I heard about the cac condensation wasn't that remedied

4. Remove Advertisements
    F150EcoBoost.net