Best oil for my boost.

This is a discussion on Best oil for my boost. within the F150 Ecoboost Chat forums, part of the F150 Ecoboost Forum category; New boost and I was wondering what type of oil to use after break in. Regular or synthetic?...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Member #

Best oil for my boost.

New boost and I was wondering what type of oil to use after break in. Regular or synthetic?

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    I'm still breaking in my EcoBeast, but when I do change oil, I'm going with Mobil 1. My last vehicle was a turbo charged PT Cruiser, and it went 120,000 with only regular preventive maintenance on the car for the 9 years that I drove it, and I drove it like I stole it.
    I'm an aircraft mechanic by trade, and have extensive knowledge of turbo charged internal combustion engines, and the largest problem with the turbo's is that when you shut down the engine, the dino oil sits in the turbo shaft bearing area and just cooks and forms varnishes and cokes that shortens the life of the bearings and seals in the turbos, eventually causing premature failure. Full synthetic oils do not have these properties.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    I agree with Dave Z, I put 2100 easy miles on then changed it over to Mobile 1 full syn.

Member #
    Liked
    322 times
    Welcome to the EcoBeast forum Filthy Animal!

I am gonna stick with conventional until I use up the free oil changes that came with my truck. So at about 9 or 10k I will switch to Mobil 1. I really like M1 and have had great success with it in previous vehicles.

SPPD
    2013 Oxford White F-150 XLT 4X2 Screw 5.5 box EcoBeast ~ 301A, MaxTow 3.73 elct rear locker, XLT Chrome Pkg. (Bone Stock)
    ProPride P3
    2013 Palomino SolAire 317 BHSK

Member #
    Liked
    10 times