4H in the 1/4 mile?

4H in the 1/4 mile?

This is a discussion on 4H in the 1/4 mile? within the 2nd Gen F150 Ecoboost forums, part of the 2nd Gen F150 Ecoboost Forum (2015+) category; So I've been gathering info on turning up my 2018 3.5. I have been racing Mustangs since 1997, and one thing I ALWAYS do is ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: 4H in the 1/4 mile?

Member #
    Liked
    26 times

4H in the 1/4 mile?

So I've been gathering info on turning up my 2018 3.5. I have been racing Mustangs since 1997, and one thing I ALWAYS do is run it down the 1/4 before and after ANY mods. To me there is no thicker pudding than the 1/4 mile. I'm planning to go run my truck to get a baseline and I have some questions.

I've seen many videos of people launching the truck in 4H.

Are they shifting back to 2H mid run? Or are they doing nearly 100 MPH in 4 wheel drive.

I ask because older trucks had a max speed of around 50 MPH in 4 wheel drive.

I don't want to break my truck...

Thanks!

Gold Supporting Member snakebitten's Avatar
    Gold Member

Member #
    Liked
    3061 times
    Don't take this wrong but boost-launching and "I don't want to break my truck" are a funny combination.

I love flogging my "tuned 3.5EB". The truck is a riot!

But I'm probably less a "measurer", so it's just my own private driving pleasure I care about.

Or put another way, I try to be kind to the drivetrain. Smoooooooth if you get the gist.

Instead of ZERO to 60, I'm a 10-70 fella.

However, I don't fault the folks that measure. (timed runs/quarter mile) But breaking stuff must be a risk that's accepted? Right?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
    VegasFX4 likes this.
    2018 KingRanch Kingsville Edition- Gen2 3.5 - Runs SO good on Factory tunes. Simply amazing. Good Job Ford

Member #
    Liked
    26 times
    Quote Originally Posted by snakebitten View Post