F150 Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,509 Posts
Great work man!

I may be hitting you up with some questions if I end up going this same route. Ryan is a pretty awesome dude to work with and has been very helpful for me.

·
Premium Member
4,509 Posts
I’ve been using a Rupes Bigfoot 15 for several years now. Great machine and nice and quiet.

I wouldn’t do a 21 unless you had large panels and worked with the machine a lot. 21 also seems to generate more heat if everything else stays comparable.

IMO, some excellent advice above!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
4,509 Posts
Good info, thank you. Or maybe I just like confirmation bias. How'd the Mountaineer/ Aviator/ Spaceship turn out?
I haven't had a chance to do any more on it. It's been a gong show with Work, buying and selling houses and a big move (600+ miles away).

Likely, I'll be playing with it again in September.

·
Premium Member
4,509 Posts
I have always just done M205 or similar level of cut polish, Iso/water mix (usually 30/70), Then usually it's a Paint prep like "Optimum Paint Prep".

I want the paint to be as naked as possible before coating, may just be personal preference, but I figure the coating will stick better and last longer.

·
Premium Member
4,509 Posts
Thank you for the compliments on the build, its been a pretty long process so far. If you recall I actually took it to 2 dealerships for 'diagnosis' and they both said I need a new long block. I did the math and with money saved by removing and installing myself, I was able to ditch the factory weak links and get a bullet proof block by the platform guru.