F150 Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

· Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! New guy here. I'm in Houston and I've been searching for advice on my truck. I'm the original owner, she has 180,000 miles and runs great, except the turbo leaks. I had the dealership take a look and they confirmed both turbos are leaking. I'm putting about 3 quarts of coolant per week to keep it going. I'm planning on having the turbos replaced after tax returns. I do not want to give myself more problems so I am seeking advice.

I'd really like to upgrade the turbos and exhaust manifolds since I have to go in on such a major repair. What risks should I be aware of on a 180,000 mile engine if I upgrade the turbos? I'm hoping it's a mild risk. I am NO mechanic and will not be troubleshooting anything. I'd just make it worse lol.

Do you have to get a custom tune on the engine? If so, is there a reputable shop in Houston that can do all of this work turn key? I read about a fine shop up in Dallas but thats a good ride from here and I'd be concerned about having to take it all the way back to Dallas if there is an issue.

All input is greatly appreciated!

· Registered
51 Posts
2013, it’s in the title 😁

At 180,000 miles if it was my truck, I would just replace the turbos with stock and not do any tuning. If you tune, you are putting more stress on a high mileage engine and it won’t last very long. Just keep up with the maintenance items and enjoy it.

· Registered
776 Posts
Based on common issues, it’s likely your turbos are leaking at the fittings… did the dealer/mechanic confirm the turbos themselves are leaking? That said, not exactly a waste of money to replace them at your mileage. Im thinking this would be smart when i dig into mine soon to do manifolds etc. Due to the 217k alone

· Registered
2,992 Posts
Aren't the garret power max turbos a little bump in performance with all stock tuning and location?

Reactions: Blown F-150

· Registered
9 Posts