F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a internet sales manager at a ford dealership in arizona and I have sold many f150s...I just bought a f150 xlt ecoboost and I was wanting to know how to breakin this motor thr right way ...

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
The only thing the owners manual says is to not pull for the first 1000 miles. Then when you do pull, not to go over 70 and avoid full throttle starts for the next 500. WELL.....It is my opinion that the dealerships are in the market to sell you a new vehicle. I go a bit more in depth, the way I break-in a new motor was the way that made sense to me. For the first 500 miles I try to keep the vehicle in-town driving only. It gives the engine multiply rpm ranges and really no load with lots of hot, cold cycles, get up to speed quickly without full throttle. For the next 1000 miles I am not affraid to take it out on the road and drive it. Still no wide open and vary the speed and rpm, NO cruise control. Then I change oil and DO NOT run synthetic because it is to slippery to break-in the engine correctly. After that I drive it normal with and with out the cruise, and DO give it wide open throttle. After the next 1500 miles (total of 3000) I change the oil again and go with full synthetic and drive it like I normally would.

Most of all, enjoy your new 'booster! Congrats!

Reactions: Mark

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
Welcome to the Forum! The EcoBeast is an amazing vehicle and you will love it.
There are many different thoughts about break-in procedures.
My philosophy is just follow the manufacturers recommendations.
In general I say just drive the truck. Don't use cruise or Tow, and try not to beat on the truck during the first 1k and you will be all good.

SPPD

Reactions: Mark

·
Registered
7,395 Posts
I agree with sppd.

Reactions: SPPD

·
Registered
32 Posts