F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings,

This thread will detail modifications done to my 2019 F-150 XLT Special Edition. I am an amateur radio operator, so most of this thread will focus on Ham Radio equipment and accessories. But first let us start with the truck:

It's a ruby red 2019 F-150 XLT SuperCrew with the 3.5EB engine, 4WD, Special Edition, and Max Trailer Tow packages. It also has the tailgate step, blind spot sensors, and rear parking radar.

IMG_5629.jpg IMG_5622.jpg IMG_20191020_145456.jpg IMG_5614.jpg

I will update as I install more equipment.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
My plan to install the radio equipment behind the rear seats. In order to do this, I needed to have easy access to that area. BuiltRight Industries makes a rear seat release kit that adds a strap to the latch behind the rear driver's seat, making it easy to fold down: https://www.builtrightind.com/products/builtright-industries-f-150-rear-seat-release.

Installation is quite simple following their YouTube video instructions. I ran into no major problems. Only issue is that I can't seem to get the latch to catch and lock the seat in place in any position except when the seat bottom is nearly folded up. Not really a concern since the only time other than installation I'd be getting back there is to reprogram the radios. Here are some photos of the installation process for reference:

IMG_20191118_221150.jpg

Rear seat folded down.

IMG_20191118_221348.jpg

Latch plate removed

IMG_20191118_221506.jpg

BuiltRight bracket and latch plate

IMG_20191118_222238.jpg

Final installation

Hope this helps anyone considering this mod.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4