F150 Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, this is my first time on a thread like this, it seems like a lot of knowledgeable folks on here.

I have a 2013 Ford F150 FTX with the 3.5L Eco Boost. Truck has ~72,500 miles on it and just had the timing chain and guide repair done at a local Ford Dealer. They gave me no indication of what the initial cause was. However they told me that one of the gears had a catastrophic failure, so I asked them to send me pics.

Service guy told me they had never seen this happen before, but they were going to clean the metal out of the motor and to come back in 500 miles for an oil flush/change to remove any remaining pieces of metal in the engine. Got truck back and drove about 380 miles and the truck started to feel labored going up a very slight incline. About 10 seconds later the Low Oil Pressure light flashed and the truck immediately died. I tried to start the truck back thinking it may limp home at least ( about 5 miles maybe). The truck barely started and had a HORRIBLE screeching sound like the crankshaft or something was trying to seize up. Anyone else had this issue after the timing chain repair? With less than 400 miles on the truck after repair, it makes me think the mechanic may have done something wrong. Any insight would be appreciated as a motor replacement is going to be VERY costly. (Should I push on the dealer for a bad repair, etc.?). I have had zero issues with this truck until the timing chain issue happened.
Thanks

·
Registered
2015 Ford F-150 Lariat Screw 5.5' | 3.5 Eco | 4x4 3.55 Max Tow | 33's, Edge CS2, Kicker PowerStage
115 Posts
Yikes! Unfortunate circumstances for joining the group but glad you are here nonetheless. Sorry to hear it.

Assuming you checked the oil level and it was relatively normal, then no major leaks.