F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sorry for posting this here... I have a 2016 F150 Platinum 3.5 EB and I have a question about the SCT 4x (or other tuners)
So I added bigger wheels (34" vs 32" stock) and naturally my speedo is off by about 2-3%. Now having gone to my local Ford dealer to have my speedo adjusted I wasted 2h just like others have done before me. After monkeying around for 2h they told me they can't do it.

That leaves me with two options (well, three, but the first ins't an option IMHO)
1. Ignore the 2-3% difference. (I don't want to)
2. Get a Hypertech for $230ish, use it once and don't need it anymore. (Don't want to spend $230+ for this if I can get more out of it for a couple bucks more)
3. Get a tuner for $400-$600 and get the benefit of being able to do some more. I am a conservative driver and I am not looking for all out performance. But having read that even the basic 87 Perf/Tow - 91 Perf/Tow tunes make a (big) difference without running the risk blowing your engine within 60k miles.
Some say that you can change the tire size and some say you can't (and I believe a lot of either statement has to do with model year of the truck, but sometimes people miss to elaborate on that detail)...

So my questions are...
1. Can anyone positively confirm that with a SCT X4 you can actually change the tire size on a 2016 3.5 EB (Platinum, even tho I like to believe the model doesn't matter)?
-- If not with the SCT X4, which tuner can / allows me to adjust tire size. (I know the DiaboloSport can for sure, but I don't need a big fancy display-ish type, I wouldn't leave it plugged in anyways. Hence the question about the SCT X4 @$200 cheaper)