F150 Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This ended up being long but you can skip the story and see pics of a 140k mile 3.5 ecoboost from inside the cylinders, tops of pistons and a couple not so great quality pictures of valves from inside the cylinder. Check the 2nd post later. Oh, and spark plugs that had 70k miles

I changed my spark plugs last night and it was horrible. Got home in time to change the plugs I have been putting off for like 3 weeks. Excited because I have a fancy new borescope and can check the cylinders to see if adding like 200hp is bad for an engine with 140k miles.....

2nd cylinder, I see what I think is a peice of a piston ring, im an amateur, I don't actually have a clue about any of this but I have a borescope and custom tunes, I could get a job at a dealership tomorrow. Lol.

Automotive tire Wood Bumper Automotive exterior Fish

After being pissed for a sec, did the rest of the plugs, and checked cylinders cause if another is worse theres no point in being pissed off about this. All good, 5/6, still a failing grade, im still mad

I'll add pics of cylinders and spark plugs in the next post when I get back to my computer, its a pain on the phone.

Spend 1.5 hours with magnets, a shop vac with 12 home made extensions using everything from silicone drinking straws, fence wire, to carbon express piledriver arrows.....chunks of metal still on the edge of the piston.

Water Fluid Gas Liquid Auto part

Sent pic to dad and service manager. Both tell me they think it's carbon.

Well I guess the engine needs to come apart either way, might as well crank it and see if it blows out......

Runs great, I logged it from before crank to maybe log an engine catastrophic failure because I am the idiot that had to get bigger turbos.

Pull coil and plug again, put the camera in, nothing there, not a spec of anything. Looks great, ran great all day.