F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
I'm still breaking in my EcoBeast, but when I do change oil, I'm going with Mobil 1. My last vehicle was a turbo charged PT Cruiser, and it went 120,000 with only regular preventive maintenance on the car for the 9 years that I drove it, and I drove it like I stole it.
I'm an aircraft mechanic by trade, and have extensive knowledge of turbo charged internal combustion engines, and the largest problem with the turbo's is that when you shut down the engine, the dino oil sits in the turbo shaft bearing area and just cooks and forms varnishes and cokes that shortens the life of the bearings and seals in the turbos, eventually causing premature failure. Full synthetic oils do not have these properties.

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
Welcome to the EcoBeast forum Filthy Animal!

I am gonna stick with conventional until I use up the free oil changes that came with my truck. So at about 9 or 10k I will switch to Mobil 1. I really like M1 and have had great success with it in previous vehicles.

SPPD

·
Registered
578 Posts
I agree with all of the above in the synthetics, I have seen really good results from Mobil 1, Royal Purple, and there are coultless praises for Amsoil, I use Castrol, after seeing some pretty convincing results/data while working at the BP Amaco research facility in Naperville Il. But as I've stated before, I am steeped in the philosophy of frequency, My oil gets changed fairly religously at 2500 miles in all of my vehicles, and like those above, I get a ton of trouble free miles out of my vehicles, but I can't justify the cost of synthetic oil at those mileage intervals. It's bad when the guy at the Oil change place tells you that synthetic oil would be a waste as often as you change oil... I've put on over 18k since thanksgiving, so he'd make a lot of money if I used castrol synthetic

·
Registered
75 Posts