F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to the turbo scene. I have recently moved from the 5.4L 3v to a 3.5L ecoboost in my 2011 f150 fx4. A little background first. I got a banks ram air intake with not custom tunes. I first encountered the dreaded misfire issue which I solved with a new set of plugs and mega canclean side separator. All was good till it came back shortly after and the filter on the PCV had a crack in it. So I fixed that. Now I have another issue which is unrelated to the misfire. Idle is fine and even off idle is fine but when I give it full throttle from a roll it won't build boost. It fluctuates between 11 to 16 psi then stays steady at 11 psi after a couple of reps of fluctuations. Now normally it would build up to 17-18 psi and stay there thru the pull. What has me baffled is if I give it wot from a stop it does exactly what it is suppose to do. So I am thinking either both my BOV or waste gates are the culprit. If so how can I diagnose which it is?

·
Registered
148 Posts
Is it able to build ~14 psi under WOT without the tune?

My experience with the '11-'12 Eco's is that the solenoid valves that control the recirculating valves (BOV's) will leak vacuum/pressure causing the BOV to not seat. Usually this is a low to part throttle issue since manifold pressure should be holding the valve shut under boost. Here's a link to a thread that I started regarding the issue.
http://www.f150ecoboost.net/forum/31-f150-ecoboost-problems/14494-turbocharger-bov-moaning-groaning-quacking-confirmed-fix.html

Now, how many miles do you have on that '11? The timing chains on the first year or so of production are prone to wearing and causing issues. It isn't a cheap fix no matter how you slice it. Also, there is an extended warranty bulletin out there to replace the brake booster vacuum pump should that begin to act up on you.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4