F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I installed a CAI and Scorcher in August and all was awesome until I towed my four place enclosed snowmobile trailer to Munising Michigan 3 weeks ago. On the way home it was 2 below and the engine light came on. I took it to auto zone and found out it was a mass air issue. I immediately put the stock air box back on, removed the scorcher and went to the dealer. They cleared the code and the service manager was nice enough to pull me aside and tell me not to put the aftermarket parts back on!!! I am beginning to wonder if it is worth it. I'm not a mechanic so how did they know I had that stuff installed?

·
Registered
900 Posts
I installed a CAI and Scorcher in August and all was awesome until I towed my four place enclosed snowmobile trailer to Munising Michigan 3 weeks ago. On the way home it was 2 below and the engine light came on. I took it to auto zone and found out it was a mass air issue. I immediately put the stock air box back on, removed the scorcher and went to the dealer. They cleared the code and the service manager was nice enough to pull me aside and tell me not to put the aftermarket parts back on!!! I am beginning to wonder if it is worth it. I'm not a mechanic so how did they know I had that stuff installed?
Good Question! That was one of my worries about getting my truck tuned. What i planned on doing was setting it back to stock then driving it a couple hundred miles before taking it in for service or warranty work. That way the po1000 code will be gone and hopefully they cant tell.

Did you have the aftermarket parts in the truck? Or stickers showing the products on your windows?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No. There was nothing that would have tipped them off!!

·
Registered
9,641 Posts
No. There was nothing that would have tipped them off!!
The scorcher is a boost fooler... It tricks the truck into running 2 more psi.