F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
Edit:

Hey guys, I've been working on an intercooler comparison for the 2011-2014's. Can y'all help fill in some of the blanks and/or make any corrections? Thanks

Note about BOV's (Blow Off Valves): There are several components to the BOV's on the 13-14 Ecoboosts. There is the BOV solenoid itself, which is attached to a large recirculation canister. The canister has a large pipe flange on it that the recirculation tube attaches to. The tube recirculates the air released from the blow-off valve back into the intake.

VTA means Vent to Atmosphere. This means that the excess pressurized air, when released from the BOV, will be released to the atmosphere, and not recirculated back into the air intake. By venting to atmosphere, you will gain a louder "PSHHHH" typical blow-off sound. This will also require to either plug off the existing recirculation pipe with a special plug, or the easier and better route would be to completely remove the recirculation pipe, and plug the nipple on the hard plastic intake tube with something like a 1" rubber chair foot and a hose clamp. That is the route I went and the way I suggest. The only configuration I am not 100% sure about is if you decide to re-use the factory BOV with the Full Race IC. I know it reuses the entire BOV and recirculation canister, however I am unsure if the placement of the BOV on the new cold-side charge pipe allows use of the factory recirculation tube, I would assume not.

Aftermarket mechanical BOV's such as the Turbosmart or Tial Q vent to atmosphere by design, so they would both require blocking off the nipple on the hard intake tube (super easy and cheap). They are both mechanical, however, as opposed to the factory electronic BOV, and will require you to tap into either a port on a throttle body spacer, or a vacuum line for a boost-reference.