F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie here so please forgive me if this has already been posted. I have about 2600 mi on my EB and was curious as to the different philosophies that are out there regarding when to change engine oil. The computer says I'm at 79%. That would mean I wouldn't change the oil till about 10k? Do any of you guys do the change at set intervals? Thanks in advance for any guidance.

·
Registered
688 Posts
I like to change the oil between 500 and 1000 miles to get the break in gunk out of the engine/filter; I put Amsoil in it and will change it 15k from now.

·
Registered
56 Posts
I changed mine at 1000 with full synthetic then again at 5k and every 5k after that. Before your first oil change if you do it yourself get a good tarp, 2 coffee cans to catch the drips, a good oil drain pan and most importantly a fumoto drain plug. First oil change was a huge mess, after the fumoto drain plug install it's a breeze.

·
Registered
3,937 Posts
OP, I say you are ready for your first change. I used semi syn first oil change at 3k. Went to synthetic at next one 6k later. My OCI is 5-6k with synthetic oil and oem oil filter.

·
Registered
2,228 Posts
It's better to err low than high. Many here do it at 5k intervals.
Get a good full synthetic, for sure.

·
Registered
84 Posts
I did my first one @ 1k and switched to the Ford full synthetic. Have been changing out every 5k from there on out.

·
Registered
728 Posts
I normally get the OEM oil out at 1,000 miles then change once a year (unless I reach 5,000 miles sooner).

·
Registered
253 Posts
From my aircraft engine experience, I personally I would not go to full synthetic until at least 3000 miles. For break-in you want to limit friction modifiers to allow for proper piston ring seating.

·
Registered
2,228 Posts