F150 Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ecoboost Noob here—Happy Thanksgiving to all!

188k on my 2011 Ecoboost, just started seeing the wrench sign. It comes and goes but when it comes boy does it come. Truck will either come to a halt, no movement even when gas applied or will only stay under 30mph no matter how much gas applied. Brought it to my mechanic who’s been servicing the truck ever since I bought it at 180k, and they can’t find anything. The wrench comes and goes, as in one day it’s there, then for three days the truck runs fine. Oil levels are good, yet nobody can figure out what’s happening. Other than that this 2-owner truck runs just fine. Had spark plugs replaced at 182k, and have been getting high synthetic oil changes on time every 1-2k. Anyone have this happen to them? Thanks in advance, hope you all enjoy this day and all days.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Your truck is going into "limp mode". The computer is sensing something critical to safety, or is saving the engine or tranny from something that could be catastrophic.

There is no way to accurately tell what might be wrong without diagnostic codes. Anything that causes limp mode should be stored in the computer memory. Your mechanic (if not a dealership) should have the right scan tool (likely from SnapOn) but they might not, and thus might not be able to read stored codes from every module (there are a lot of them: PCM, TCM, BCM, SJB, ACM, etc...) . Therefore, you might want to get yourself an OBD scan tool like Forscan to read the codes when it happens.

Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Your truck is going into "limp mode". The computer is sensing something critical to safety, or is saving the engine or tranny from something that could be catastrophic.