F150 Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just picked up this ruby red 4x4 crew. Story is, an elderly gentleman bought himself a really sweet truck as a last hurrah, but only got to drive it a short time. Widow sold it back to the dealer, where I bought it. 2015 model year, purchased early 2016, 24k miles and looks new. Carfax checks out...single-owner, 6 dealer oil changes, air & cabin filters.

Grandpa treated himself right, let me tell you. It's a 502A with the 3.5l, tow package, camel leather, roof, 400W AC, and I'm not even sure what else. I am new to Ford, new to full-size pickups, and I am astonished how damn nice this thing is. Sport mode on the tranny is beastly, the cabin is a tomb, and it drives as light as a sedan.

I'm a bit OCD about my vehicles, so the sanity check is under way. Planning to do all lubricants, but had to do my research. Have some AMSOil 0w-30 on hand, but I see the high volatility is a no-no. Ordered Motul 8100. Surprised by the old-school crack the pumpkin diffs. Thought I was doing a diff drain/fill today too, but no...too much work. Instead I did the plugs. Not worried about wear so much as age. Having not moved for 5+ years, I thought they might be stubborn, but not so. Access is good, they came out easily, and they looked great. Definitely Italian tuning whenever possible as well!

Two areas of concern...Carfax shows a master cylinder replacement immediately pre-sale, and there is a bit of a headliner stain from a roof leak. I plan to call the dealership that did the brake job to ask, but that's a weird one. The roof (I'm told) was just plugged drains (it sat for long periods). I know they can be problematic, but it operates fine, doesn't rattle, and passed the hose test...so I'm inclined to believe it. I will check drains myself soon.