F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 254 Posts

·
Registered
1,003 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Until I changed the oil on my 13 F150 Ecoboost.... :devil:

I'm 50 years old and have been changing oil in vehicles since my Dad would let me sometime in my "tweens"... :) You do the math.. ;)

This thing was the WORST vehicle of all times to change the oil in... I did the first change at 2800 miles from the dealer (free oil change coupon).. They over filled it by 1 full QT and who knows if they even changed it at all... Ok, there was some oil residue under the filter, so I'm pretty sure they did it...

I'm now at 6500 miles and decided to change the oil myself.. Got me the correct $6 MC filter from Walmart and they only had MC Semi Syn 5W20 oil on the shelf, so I picked up my usual make and 5W30 oil I've been using for many years.. (it did cost $10 more for the 5 QT jug)

I've checked out the underside of the rig before doing this and did find it totally stupid.. But, decided I'd try it anyway..

Figured out that the big cover comes off with little effort and that lets you get to the oil pan drain..

Since day one, I could see the oil filter from the top, but didn't see any access from below, but saw that there was also an access point to get out of the way and at least reach up and grab the filter...

Read some posts about how the filter has a "tray" to direct the oil from removing the filter either to the "front or the back" depending on how it's sitting and even read about how others have had the same issues I ultimately had.... ;) (totally stained my driveway with oil)

Well, I warmed the engine up and even thou it's a 4x4, I can't get under it like I could with my 97 4x4 F150 , so I put my ramps out on the driveway and kept it as level as I could and started to do a simple oil change..

DAMN...

It was hot out, so I took a lot of breaks to drink a beer or two and CUSS the HELL out of this thing...