F150 Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a newb, I need to get this right. Searched here and online and I personally find it somewhat confusing.

First time I've carried this much weight and want to make sure I'm doing the math right.

GVWR=7000 lb
curb = 4740 lb
so
Max payload = 2260 lb
(rear axle = 3800 lb so not an issue)

I want to carry 1600lb product
plus 2 people (200x2)
so total p/l is 2000lb

Am I good to go?

·
Premium Member
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
1711lb--but that's why I asked. That seems to be the standard amount for almost every F150 spec I've seen, regardless of how it's specced out. Can't give specifics on others but that seemed to be common.

·
Premium Member
2022 Powergrid KingRanch in Sparkle White
13,729 Posts
1711lb--but that's why I asked. That seems to be the standard amount for almost every F150 spec I've seen, regardless of how it's specced out. Can't give specifics on others but that seemed to be common.
I'd be surprised if you opened the door on 10 F150's, same year model, and found the same yellow sticker Payload on any 2 of them. They'd have to be basically identical twins. (other than paint color)

The yellow sticker IS Ford doing the math for you based on the truck asbuilt on the assembly line.

Reactions: LenD

·
Premium Member
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
And I can accept that (well, I did until I went further). Then why would the max r/a weight be 3800# ?? Shouldn't it be something substantially less?

Put 4-5 adults in the cab and you've got "spare weight" for one set of golf clubs 😉 . Seems weird.

·
Premium Member
2022 Powergrid KingRanch in Sparkle White
13,729 Posts
I think we are discussing 2 different things.