F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay. I've been crunching numbers, and there is no way I can get one of these beauties without leasing it.

However, I am a newbie to the game and do not know how it works.

Basically, my idea is to talk them down to a number I like, then ask them to lease it to me at that price.

So, for example. An XLT has an MSRP of 43,000, and I talk the dealer down to 32,000 and say "let's lease this baby"....what happens?

I'm seeing that these are being discounted as much as 12-13k right now, but that is advertised as purchase price. Will dealers give me that for a lease price?

·
Registered
943 Posts
How long do you intend to keep the truck? If you are planning to keep for a while then, I think it is better to buy than lease. If plan on a short period then check into leasing. Be careful if you lease and don't put too many miles on or it will cost you .

·
Registered
873 Posts
Leasing never wins. If you can't afford it you can't afford it, nothing wrong with that. I was only able to buy mine because it was part of a hail sale and fit my budget so I could pay cash. And it's an xl haha! Otherwise no truck for me.

Also with the problems these trucks can have it may hurt your cash flow making ability due to have it being at the dealer a wide range of times (1-5 days) for an attempted repair. Some have zero issues just depends on your cash flow stress test.

If it was me, my .02 here, I'd get a cheaper slightly used 08 or 10 with the tried true 5.4.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
How long do you intend to keep the truck? If you are planning to keep for a while then, I think it is better to buy than lease. If plan on a short period then check into leasing. Be careful if you lease and don't put too many miles on or it will cost you .
Well, I would lease it knowing that I plan to buy it outright when the lease is up.

·
Registered
15 Posts