F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased an N-Fab pre runner light bar which holds 3 lights on it. Ive decided on the Hella Rallye 4000 lights due to some budgeting. However the wiring harness that Hella sells only wires up to two lights. Anyone know of any ways to wire up three of them to one switch? I thought Pro Comp sold one that went to three lights but their site has been down for several days now.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Shooting from the hip here....without the spec sheet in front of me. I'm sure they only tell you to wire 2 lights for a reason. The wiring and switch that they supply probably can only handle the current draw of 2 lights. They are probably a high output light. If you add another there could be potential problems.
Blown fuse
Blown switch
Melting wires

However if you could post the wattage of the lights I could suggest a wire and fuse size.

I'm an electrician by trade. This is the first thing that comes to mind for me..

Reactions: sheldon37

·
Registered
868 Posts
i agree
probably the wiring is sized for 2 lights and i would want to know the wire size ad what the wattages are before i added a 3rd light.
as stated could even exceed the fuse rating with 3 lights.
i made that mistake many yrs ago took out 55w halogen bulbs from a set of offroad lights mounted to my bumper and dropped in the 100w halogen bulbs not giving it a thought 2 days later the wire had gotten hot enough to soften the insulation and it rubbed through on a metal edge.
had to rewire the whole setup after that to make the story short !

·
Registered
1,509 Posts
Easy fix. You should have one relay with the lights which is made to handle 2 lights.
You should be able to purchase another relay at most auto parts stores.
Follow the same instructions but only us one side of the second relay.
Solder all of your connections and shrink wrap, don't use crimp connectors, they will eventually fail from corrosion.