F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This may have been asked before, but I didn't readily find it with the search. Does anyone have 50k+ miles on their tune? I am new to tuning and just installed an unleashed 91 octane performance tune. I have a Rx Monster catch can and magnaflow dual-exhaust and that is it. I was just looking to improve throttle response and shift points add a little power to make it more fun for daily driving. I do not have any intentions of racing around or trying to beat the guy at the light in the Honda civic to the next light. Just a little more power and pleasure when driving. As I am new to all this, I am curious as to longevity of the engine i.e. will putting a tune in it make the engine/turbos wear out quicker or should I see no long term effects at all. Will it wear out when it wears out, or am I essentially causing myself more pain long term. 15k is a lot to replace a blown engine. I take exceptional care of my vehicle. Thanks for any input.
P.S If you know more than me ( won't be hard) or if this has been discussed, please don't be a [email protected]$$. This is supposed to be a learning environment.

·
Premium Member
4,079 Posts
By your explanation of "wants", it would be a pretty safe and mild tune, and in my opinion, by tuning the parameters to your specific truck, it could only help the lifespan. The only way to lessen the longevity is if you are really amping up the performance and pushing the limits of what the engine is capable of.

·
Premium Member
4,079 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·