F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, new to the forum and to the ecoboost/Ford family. I just bought a 2013 FX4 supercab via a salvage auction, it has 87,000 miles but seems to be in real good shape. I am an engineer, and have been looking into as many things I can do to 1. Prevent carbon build up, and 2. Increase the longevity of the motor(timing chain and general wear).
So first I’d like to say what I have planned and maybe you guys can critique me,

For my oil that I’ll use I chose the least volatile out of those which performed best in an ASTM bearing wear test, this was Pennzoil ultra platinum, I chose the Mobil 1 extended life for oil filters because it’s a 25 micron filter that performs at 98.7% Filtration efficiency.

I plan to add a catch can but have not decided on a brand or specific system

I plan to drill the driver side hole in the intercooler...how well does this prevent sludge reaching the valves or does it?

Should I already be concerned with the amount of build up?

anyway that’s what I have so far, a bit about myself I build boats, Jeep CJs, and am a structural engineer by trade.

·
Registered
329 Posts
Good oil at early intervals is the way to go.
Since you don't have a history of the maintenance, have you considered replacing all fluids?

What makes you think you need to drill a hole?

Um... your intercooler weep hole and sludge are not related issues.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3