F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need some advice concerning the difference between a 315 and a 355 in the F150 EcoBoost...we are pulling a trailer 8000 empty....which is the better rear end to get...want to order it new....will be traveling out west 2 or 3 months of the year but a majority of the time we will use the truck around the city or countryside---315 will pull 8600 the 355 will pull 9800 lbs...any suggestions..this is my first time on this site

·
Registered
5 Posts
I would go with at least the 3.55, but a 3.73 would pull more weight, if you ever need to pull anything heavier. I would also pick the limited slip diff over the locker.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Go with the 3.73 IMO. It will run just under 2k RPM at 70 MPH. I have the FX4 18" tires and trailer tow pkg. I decided against the Max Trailer tow because my trailers are not wide campers or 8' wide box trailers.

But if your trailer is extra wide around 8' then go with the Max Trailer Tow and get the extendable mirrors.

I had the exact same set up in my 07 with the 5.4. and was pleased. But now with the Ecoboost power is great! And mpg should be the same if not better.

I special ordered my 13 and only took about 4 weeks to get it in.

·
Registered
64 Posts