F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey Guys, I got my new 17 3.5 Ecoboost Screw Fx4 w/ 3.55 a few months ago. I've been lurking around the forum since I got the truck, I'm glad we finally got a 2017 forum! I had a minor issue the other day, just wanted to see if anyone else has experienced problem with the Wastegate on their new 3.5. At about a 1200 miles I had a check engine light come on. No noticeable change in performance, but I went ahead and took it to the dealer. The dealer said there was a TSB out on recalibrating the waste gates on the turbos, apparently my wastegate was remaining open. Well yesterday on the way back from lunch the check engine light came on again and the vehicle went into limp home mode so I took it directly to the dealer. They said it was the same issue and have ordered a replacement wastegate which won't be in until Wednesday. I have some experience with supercharged engines, but relatively none with turbocharged ones. Any issues I should worry about that might arise from the wastegate being stuck open? I don't think it was stuck open for a long period of time, but I have been keeping a foot in the truck since I got it lol. I'm guessing it's probably mechanically actuated and it was just a faulty motor or something causing this issue. Anyone had this issue or work at a dealership that has seen this issue?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
361 Posts
The turbos on the gen 2 are electronically actuated waste gates. If it forces you into limp mode that's definitely a problem but with a waste gate stuck wide open you just wouldn't make as much boost and it will feel less powerful.

·
Registered
642 Posts
the wastegate is what is used to divert exhaust gases from the turbine directly into the exhaust. so, when this is open its not spinning the turbine nearly as much and you shouldn't ever see boost.