F150 Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all!

So glad there are these forums out there to tap in to everyone's knowledge!

I just purchased a 2011 F150 Ecoboost with 73K, metallic black, 3.73 max tow package completely stock and in overall great shape! I was very impressed by how well the exterior and interior were taken care of which helped my confidence in buying it. I am new to turbo engines and direct injection and hope to learn more about them. My main question today is about the turbo and what is normal for boost. As i've had the truck for a few months now I became curious about normal mpg's of these trucks. After searching through a ton of forums, it seems a lot of trucks can safely get 18+ on the freeway and easily 15 in town (to be conservative, I'm sure many of you are getting better than this). But my average in town stays around 11 or 12, and if i cruise on the freeway at 75 i get about 14.5-15. I also seem to experience hesitation when i step on it, close to 2 seconds before the tranny downshifts and it hits the power. Also on 2 occasions i've stepped on it to cross a busy road or intersection and the power isnt there for what seems like forever, and then it all hits and once causing driving hazards IMO. This led me to buy an aeroforce interceptor gauge to help me monitor my boost psi and other data.