F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone.
I just got my first F-150 few days ago.
Yesterday I noticed oil dipstick smells gasoline. I am not really technical person but I guess this is not normal.
Could anyone advise what it might cause?
Truck is 2012.

Thank you.

·
Premium Member
413 Posts
I recently had my oil analyzed and they found a trace of fuel in the oil. This was the second change on my 2013 and one thing I noticed both times is how rank the oil smells. A new engine might leak a bit of fuel into the oil for a while and I've heard these are no different. Keep an eye on the oil level for any growth. If you're growing oil, get it in immediately! Best time to check is in the same spot before starting for the first time that day. Congrats on your new truck. Really, you're going to love it!

·
Registered
131 Posts
What Mike said.

Direct injection engines are notorious for having some fuel dilution but as long as it doesn’t get out of control to affect the oils viscosity then you’re ok. Just keep an eye on your oil level to make sure it doesn’t grow.

·
Registered
519 Posts
Its a misnomer to state that having raw fuel present in the engine oil is by design, normal, or an engineered feature of direct injection.

Direct injection is offered to the market from various manufactures in multiple engine models. Ford seems to be the only manufacturer with substantial quantities of owners reporting raw fuel in oil.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
What Mike said.

Direct injection engines are notorious for having some fuel dilution but as long as it doesn’t get out of control to affect the oils viscosity then you’re ok. Just keep an eye on your oil level to make sure it doesn’t grow.
I took truck to dealership yesterday and was told that it is normal. So going to take your advise, Matt, and keep an eye on oil level.