F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am not an engineer or scientist. I am not sponsored by anyone. I purchased these filters with my own money.

This is all solely my opinion based on my observations. You can draw your own conclusions based upon the pictures and/or your own research.

I decided to cut open a Motorcraft FL-500S and a WIX/XP 57502XP for a comparison of the components.

Motorcraft FL-500S purchased on Amazon for $5.97 +tx

WIX/XP 57502XP purchased from Rockauto for $7.15 +tx (this price has shipping factored into the price)

My personal beliefs are the WIX is better mainly for the media. As you will see in the photos, the WIX media is much thicker and more durable.

These first 2 photos are a view of all the components.

The Motorcraft has a larger overall diameter, maybe 1mm , and is slightly longer.

The next 2 photos are the mounting seals.

Motorcraft seal is larger and thicker. It also is a lot stiffer than the WIX seal.

Next 2 photos are the base plates with anti-drain back seals.

Both base plates are equally thick and heavy. Motorcraft has 7 oval openings while the WIX has 8 round openings. The anti- drain back seals are equivalent material and thickness. The WIX seal is larger and a bit stiffer.

These next are the base of the filter media. The Motorcraft appears to have its emergency bypass built into the base of the filter, while the WIX has the traditional at the top (I’ll cover this one later)
The bases of both filters media are equally rigid and were sealed to the media very well. The WIX had a metal collar separating the filter base from the anti - drain seal. The Motorcraft has a welded in collar that is part of the emergency bypass. Cutting open the bypass showed a rubber gasket, metal retainer and a spring.