F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I just bought a 2017 f150 XTR 3.5 eb. Supercrew 302a with max tow package, 3.55’s (I think). Truck makes decent power but falls off on top. Looking into tuners and wondering if y’all have any suggestions. So far the truck is totally stock. Any help would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
1,918 Posts
Mine does the same thing. But great power to about 85 mph and then meh. I thought that was how it just is on a stock 3.5. I can't really complain. Plus mines a slower , heavier 2013.

·
Premium Member
2,840 Posts
TT is made for low end torque not high end power.

·
Registered
3,937 Posts
Hello, I just bought a 2017 f150 XTR 3.5 eb. Supercrew 302a with max tow package, 3.55’s (I think). Truck makes decent power but falls off on top. Looking into tuners and wondering if y’all have any suggestions. So far the truck is totally stock. Any help would be greatly appreciated
I have no experience with the Gen 2 stuff, but maybe @snakebitten can share his experience.

·
Registered
2,793 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,944 Posts
I have no experience with the Gen 2 stuff, but maybe @snakebitten can share his experience.
Thanks. But I'm not really the right guy for this one. I can't even relate to the complaint.

It's not often someone describes the most powerful 1/2 ton truck I've ever experienced like that. (no offense intended)

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

·
Administrator
10,264 Posts
Definitely not the first person to state this. The turbos start to run out of breath up there. Careful tuning can extend the power band.

Baaaaaaaaaaa

·
Premium Member
5,944 Posts
I guess it's a subjective thing.
Almost every machine (car truck bike tractor mower.....) I've ever had was either happy on one end or the other. Either hit on the lower spectrum OR was happier at full song on top.