F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm ashamed to admit that, without doing sufficient research in advance, I recently bought a 2014 XLT with the 3.5 EcoBoost engine. Now that I have it, I'm getting the impression that this engine isn't exactly the pinnacle of Ford automotive engineering, to say the least. I've been experiencing engine shuddering under hard acceleration, an apparently well-known phenomenon that I'd have known about if I'd read up on the engine before buying the truck. I'm by no means a mechanic -- I change oil, tires, brake pads/fluid on my cars, but that's about it -- and I'm really dreading taking the truck to the Ford dealer to find out how much I'm going to get skinned for having them fix whatever combination of issues they decide are causing the problem: spark plugs, valve gunk, intercooler crud, sensors, the turbos themselves, etc. I've read all about catch cans and oil/air separators, but after dozens of forum threads and YouTube videos on which kind to install, or whether to install one at all, or whether to drill a hole in the intercooler, my brain is officially blown (pun intended). So here's my admittedly-ignorant question: Is it feasible to "de-turbo" the engine? I don't plan on towing any large boats or trailers, so I'm not convinced that the extra power from the turbos is worth dealing with what seem to be a whole lot of turbo-related issues. If that's not doable, maybe I should just replace the engine with a rebuilt normally-aspirated engine and call it a day.

·
Registered
551 Posts
You're not taking the turbos off the engine. Dont believe the hype. Go ahead and change out your spark plugs for starters. Drill the drain hole. There's plenty of reading on the site. The search bar is in the upper right corner.