F150 Ecoboost Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
697 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So at a bit over 200k on the clock, my trans was making some racket… suspected torque converter coming apart.

Decided with the mileage it made the most sense to rebuild or replace the transmission as simply pulling it to investigate looked to run at least $1200.

So, naturally, this was the time to install that Saudi trans cooler I’ve been eyeing for a few years… along with a rear main seal, raptor trans mount, new cooler lines and a Dorman pan with drain plug.

Fast forward, the new (reman) trans is installed with all the aforementioned goodies. I can’t get the thing to run over 135 degrees! Today, towing our (little) trailer home from camp it barely broke 120 in an hour of highway driving. Before it ran 201 when warmed up, sometimes ticking up to 210 when towing.

I have a hard time imagining that the new cooler has cut 80 degrees off the operating temperature. What do you guys think?

Using my edge sct to monitor temps… trucks gauge cluster agrees. According to performance and the SCT, torque converter is locking up even at these low temps.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
697 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well,.you have two variables going on and it could be one or both (reman trans and new cooler).
To be honest, I suspect the trans, or maybe just a sensor. I know I’m not the first to add a bigger trans cooler to an ecoboost

·
Registered
697 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Last week it was running 134 at 74 ambient. Today, max 122 at 60. On Friday with ambient around 90 it was still below 140.

Bad/missing/open thermostat makes sense.

I think this thing was built on a Friday. First day I picked it up it was leaking fluid… they (transmission shop who installed the reman) found a bad or missing seal at the pump. Got that “fixed” and it’s still slipping when downshifting 4 to 3 under acceleration.