F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the tubo world and am loving by truck. I have a couple questions about turbo operation. I understand the more throttle the more boost. Is there a time when the turbos are not providing boost? What is the maximum boost stock? Do they always spin? I assume the higher the RPM's the faster they spin and therefore provide more boost? Is there a simple definition of "wastegate" and function? Thanks in advance for enlightening an old school guy...........John

·
Registered
589 Posts
John- Most of the time when the engine is not under load (meaning not throwing down the power) the boost is at the lowest or no effective enough to feel. Max boost from what I have seen/read is between 12 to 13 (Could be wrong but the modified EcoBeast have been boosted up to 17 safely). Turbos are always spinning and the more RPMs the more exhaust flow thus the faster the turbos and more boost than the BOV (Blow off Value) steps in (if required) and relieves the turbo pressure (Boost) and recycles the air back into the intake tube. Thats kinda of why you don't hear the typical loud gosh of air blowing off when your letting off the throttle quickly.

·
Registered
71 Posts
I'm a visual guy... Watch this video. It should answer most of your questions.

Pretty sure max boost on a stock motor is abt 12lbs.

Hope this helps.

·
Premium Member
2,427 Posts
12-13 is correct for stock. I'm running 16-18 # of boost with an LMS tune (I think). Never been dyno'd. Going off dyno charts with my same mods

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks AK and TT-F150, good information and I have a much better understanding of the magic made by the 3.5 ecoboost................John

·
Registered
519 Posts