F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, just got my SCT Livewire tuner with five star tunes. Only have tried the 87 so far and truck seems a lot more responsive And can for sure feel the boost increase. I'm new to turbo charged engines and reading the guages. What is the stock PSI in the ecoboost? And With the 87 tune if I let off the gas.. Psi drops to -11.00 and is steady at -7. Is this normal to have Negative PSI?

·
Registered
5,138 Posts
Stock max boost is 12 psi.

When in vacuum it is reading in inHG. Not psi. It is completely normal. When idling I see -20.

Reactions: stevenmverrill

·
Premium Member
1,855 Posts
Man your turbo must be spooling in reverse when you let off the gas.(Loose bearings)..its creating engine vacuum I would go to the dealer and get that checked out... After today I just couldn't help myself !!!

·
Registered
5,138 Posts
It's a good fun loving group on here. Don't mind if people make funny comments. It's all in good fun.

But no problem. Hope you enjoy the tunes.

·
Registered
7,395 Posts
Reactions: milesej05

·
Registered
101 Posts
The pressure reported out is intake manifold pressure, so once you are out of the throttle and the butterfly valve is closed the intake manifold will still see a vacuum like like a naturally aspirated motor. The turbos are still providing just enough boost that the CAC and upstream of the throttle body will still be positive pressure.

·
Premium Member
1,855 Posts
Oh come on now,!,,,
I have never ever in my life ever heard of someone asking about negative boost,you have to think about what the word boost means..its pressure above atmospheric pressure which is about 14 psi your gauge is set to read zero at sea level which is Houston..