F150 Ecoboost Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody here use a winterfront for the rad?
So far it seems unnecessary at -20c, but wondering if the truck would benefit from one when it gets cold(er).

What about covering up the intercooler when it gets below -20? I know colder air is better for performance, but extremely cold air also means worst fuel mileage.

2013 SuperCrew XLT XTR Kodiak Brown Ecoboost 145"WB 302A package, Max Tow package

·
Registered
373 Posts
I haven't covered the rad ever in this truck, it's on it's 3rd sask winter now. But you don't want to block the intercooler at all.

·
Registered
9,641 Posts
-20C????
My house A/C is running, right now...this just blows me away. I'm not good at off the cuff F to C conversions, but I think it's in the 20-23 range...aka low 70's F.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
-20c is -4f. -40c is -40f

I've been playing around with DashCommand to watch intake air temperature. In the morning it starts off at about the same as outdoor air temp, then warms up a bit while the truck is idling, then cools back down close to outside air temp as I drive.

2013 SuperCrew XLT XTR Kodiak Brown Ecoboost 145"WB 302A package, Max Tow package

·
Registered
373 Posts
-20c is -4f. -40c is -40f I've been playing around with DashCommand to watch intake air temperature. In the morning it starts off at about the same as outdoor air temp, then warms up a bit while the truck is idling, then cools back down close to outside air temp as I drive. 2013 SuperCrew XLT XTR Kodiak Brown Ecoboost 145"WB 302A package, Max Tow package
It was damned cold in stoon today too! But yeah I've noticed the temp change from just sitting to moving etc.

·
Registered
5,409 Posts
-8c @ 9pm local time in BC Kootenays area

Yeah, we warmed up to that too. We did hit -16*C yesterday (3.2*F in real temps).

·
Registered
5,409 Posts
Real? You are canadian riiiiight ? :)